The PGA TOUR has announced its schedule

The PGA TOUR has announced its schedule for the 2022-23 season with 47 tournaments. This includes 44 regular season and three FedEx Cup playoffs, culminating in the TOUR Championship at East Lake Golf Club August 21-27. After finishing the calendar for that season, the transition to the calendar year calendar will begin.

PGA TOUR, schedule

Looking ahead to the FedEx Cup playoffs, things change, and that is that only 70 players will enter the first tournament of the qualifiers, the FedEx St. Jude, when before there were 125. There will only be 50 golfers left for the BMW Championship (before 70), and in the TOUR Championship the current 30 will be maintained. The 70 players who qualify for the first playoff will have a card for the following season.

Perhaps the main argument to fight against the investment of the Saudi LIV is the increase in prizes in the eight ‘invitational’ events. His bag will be between 15 and 25 million dollars. In these raises we must include the first two tournaments of the playoffs, the FedEx St. Jude and the BMW, with 20 million.

Others that also raise their amount are: The Players (25 million), Sentry Tournament of Champions (15 million), Genesis Invitational (20 million), Arnold Palmer Invitational (20 million), Memorial (20 million) and WGC-Dell Technologies Match Play (20 million).

Then there will be the bonuses, which will amount to 145 million: 75 for the FedEx Cup, 20 for the Comcast Business Tour Top 10 (the top 10 of the regular season in the FedEx rankings before the playoffs begin) and 50 million for the Player Impact Program (players with more media impact).

The PGA Tour is an organization that takes care of the main professional golf tours in the United States. It is headquartered in Ponte Vedra Beach, a suburb of Jacksonville, Florida. Its official name is written all in capital letters, or “PGA TOUR”.

The PGA Tour became an organization of its own in 1968 when it split from the PGA of America, which is now primarily an association of golf professionals, such as masters and club managers. Tournament players first formed their own organization, the Association of Professional Golfers (APG). Later, in 1968, the players abolished the APG and agreed to operate as the PGA “Tournament Players Division”, a completely autonomous division of the PGA, under the supervision of a new 10-member Tournament Policy Board. The name then officially changed to “PGA Tour” in 1975.

In 1981 he has a marketing dispute with the PGA of America and decides to officially change his name. From the end of August of that year it becomes “TPA Tour”, which stands for “Tournament Players Association”.┬áThe dispute was resolved within seven months and the tour name returned to “PGA Tour” in March 1982.

Due to the multiplicity of similar names, it is good to explain what the PGA Tour organizes and what it does not. The PGA tour does not operate any of the four major tournaments or the Ryder Cup. The PGA of America, not the PGA Tour, organizes the PGA Championship, the Senior PGA Championship, and co-organizes the Ryder Cup with the PGA European Tour. The PGA Tour is not involved in women’s US tours, which are controlled by the LPGA. The PGA Tour is also not the official body that regulates the game of golf in the United States: this is instead the role of the USGA, which also organizes the U.S. Open. What the PGA Tour does instead is organize all the rest of the golf events week after week, including The Players Championship and the FedEx Cup as well as the Presidents Cup every two years.