Sergio García and López-Chacarra stay out

The final of the first course of the LIV, the circuit born in 2022 promoted by Saudi Arabia, will not have any of the Spaniards on the last day. The ‘Fireballs’ team, formed by Sergio García and Eugenio López-Chacarra, in addition to the Mexicans Abraham Ancer and Carlos Ortiz, were eliminated in the semifinals and will not be part of the group of 16 players – the four golfers from each of the winning teams – that will play in stroke play, sum of strokes, to determine which team wins the Miami tournament, which saves a prize of 16 million dollars for the quartet that rises with victory.

Sergio Garcia, results

García, the captain, a superb match play player, as evidenced by his record in the Ryder Cup (25 wins, 13 losses and 7 draws) fulfilled his victory by beating the number 1 of the ‘Punch Go’, the Australian Cameron Smith, the current British Open winner. A devastating ending, winning four holes out of a possible five, with three birdies late in the game, turned the duel around to end up winning 2 and 1. Smith had reached two points up in the first eight holes. “Even if some don’t want to see it that way, I can still play this game well,” he said.

The one from Borriol had been in the news on Thursday for his firm decision to accept that he will not be in Rome next year in the confrontation between the United States and Europe. “I don’t want to be a burden to anyone, especially in the Ryder Cup. I’d rather stay out of it as much as it hurts and make sure Europe has a better chance of winning than me being there and there’s three or four pissed off guys or something. “, Said Sergio, who will go through the operating room in November to operate on the meniscus of his left knee.

The Fireballs weren’t the only top seeds eliminated. The Stingers of Louis Oosthuizen, Brandon Grace, Charl Schwartzel and Du Plessis surprised the Cruisers of DeChambeau and Casey, in very tough matches that were settled on the 23rd holes, in the case of Bryson and Louis with victory for the latter, and on the 20th, in Casey’s victory over Grace. Schwartzel’s foursome – the first winner in the history of a tournament on this circuit – and Du Plessis beat Howell and Lahiri by two.

Also in the final will be the favorite Aces of Dustin Johnson, Patrick Reed, Perez and Talor Gooch (2-1 against the Cleeks of Al Kurdi, Carter, McDowell and Bland) and the Smash of the Koepka brothers, Uihlein and Kokrak, who crushed 3-0 to Poulter, Westwood, Stenson and Horfield.