Rafael Nadal, Roger Federer, Novak Djokovic skip Laver Cup

Established to honor the name of legendary Rod Laver and gather the world’s finest players for a three-day action, Laver Cup has seen three editions so far. After Prague, Chicago and Geneva, the fourth edition takes place in Boston TD Garden between September 24-26. One of the competition founders and the most famous promoter, Roger Federer, will skip Laver Cup for the first time due to an ongoing knee injury bothering him for over a year and a half. To make things even worse for the organizers, Rafael Nadal and Novak Djokovic have not planned to compete in Boston following the US Open, while Dominic Thiem has to skip the rest of the year due to a wrist injury. Thus, Daniil Medvedev, Alexander Zverev, Stefanos Tsitsipas, Andrey Rublev, Matteo Berrettini and Casper Ruud will form the blue Team Europe, hoping to beat Team World for the fourth straight year and keep the beautiful trophy in their collection.

Roger Federer, Rafael Nadal and Novak Djokovic will not play for Team Europe.

In Prague 2017, Roger Federer and Rafael Nadal led Team Europe and stole the show on September 23, scoring singles victories before stepping on the court together in a much-anticipated doubles clash. Roger and Rafa beat Jack Sock and Sam Querrey in three sets to push Team Europe further ahead the final day, where Roger prevailed over Nick Kyrgios in the final match to claim the title for his squad. In Chicago 2018, Roger Federer and Novak Djokovic joined forces on an opening day and lost to Kevin Anderson and Jack Sock after a great battle.

On the third day, Federer prevailed over John Isner before Alexander Zverev ousted Kevin Anderson in an all-or-nothing clash to keep the title for the Team Europe. Federer and Nadal were the main stars in Geneva 2019, although they did not play together. Federer and Alexander Zverev defeated Denis Shapovalov and Jack Sock on the first day, and Federer and Nadal added singles victories on day two over Nick Kyrgios and Milos Raonic. Like a year ago, Federer and Zverev had to step in and score singles victories in the last two matches of the final day to secure the third straight trophy for Team Europe. Denis Shapovalov, Felix Auger-Aliassime and Diego Schwartzman are confirmed players for Team World.