PGA Tour, eight new tournaments in autumn

Eight no-denomination tournaments, with prizes of at least $ 20 million per game, which will feature the best 50 players of the FedEx Cup 2022. It is the PGA Tour’s answer to the Arab Super League which also collected the “yes” of Brooks Koepka and Abraham Ancer.

Pga, news

Jay Monahan, commissioner of the major American circuit, would have informed the players of the PGA Tour about the news scheduled for next autumn. Indiscretions that could be made official soon. In fact, the PGA Tour is trying in every way to counter the escape of its champions. From Dustin Johnson to Phil Mickelson, from Bryson DeChambeau to Patrick Reed, many of the big names who have already greeted the PGA Tour to embrace the new economic power of the green.

The PGA Tour is an organization that takes care of the main professional golf tours in the United States. It is headquartered in Ponte Vedra Beach, a suburb of Jacksonville, Florida. Its official name is written all in capital letters, or “PGA TOUR”.

The PGA Tour became an organization of its own in 1968 when it split from the PGA of America, which is now primarily an association of golf professionals, such as masters and club managers. Tournament players first formed their own organization, the Association of Professional Golfers (APG). Later, in 1968, the players abolished the APG and agreed to operate as the PGA “Tournament Players Division”, a fully autonomous division of the PGA, under the supervision of a new 10-member Tournament Policy Board [1]. The name then officially changed to “PGA Tour” in 1975.

In 1981 he has a marketing dispute with the PGA of America and decides to officially change his name. From the end of August of that year it becomes “TPA Tour”, which stands for “Tournament Players Association”. The dispute was resolved within seven months and the tour name returned to “PGA Tour” in March. 1982.

Due to the multiplicity of similar names, it is good to explain what the PGA Tour organizes and what it does not. The PGA tour does not operate any of the four major tournaments or the Ryder Cup. The PGA of America, not the PGA Tour, organizes the PGA Championship, the Senior PGA Championship, and co-organizes the Ryder Cup with the PGA European Tour. The PGA Tour is not involved in women’s US tours, which are controlled by the LPGA. The PGA Tour is also not the official body that regulates the game of golf in the United States: this is instead the role of the USGA, which also organizes the U.S. Open. What the PGA Tour does instead is organize all the rest of the golf events week after week, including The Players Championship and the FedEx Cup as well as the Presidents Cup every two years.