Dominant Iga Swiatek ties Serena Williams’ stunning record from 2013

World No. 1 Iga Swiatek has clinched her 34th consecutive win and tied Serena’s Williams winning streak record from 2013. 

In 2013, Williams won 34 consecutive matches before suffering a surprise Wimbledon defeat to Sabine Lisicki. 

Swiatek, who replaced Ashleigh Barty as the new world No. 1 after Miami, started her winning streak in February and is now a win away from winning her sixth consecutive title. 

On Thursday, Swiatek saw off top-ranked Russian tennis player Daria Kasatkina 6-2 6-1 to progress into the French Open final. 

Swiatek is now a win away from breaking Serena Williams’ record from 2013 and also a win away from tying Venus Williams’ record from 2000. 

Venus Williams owns the longest streak of the 21st century as in 2000 she won 35 consecutive matches. 

Swiatek crushed Kasatkina

Swiatek started the match with an early break but Kasatkina broke back and the two players were tied to two games apiece after the opening four games. 

Blowing an early break didn’t impact Swiatek, who broke Kasatkina in the sixth and eighth games to win four games in a row and win the first set in style.

Swiatek and Kasatkina were tied at a game apiece in the second set, before the Pole went on to win the next five games and seal the win in an impressive way. 

Before the French Open, Swiatek explained what she means by her “the sky is the limit” comment. 

“It just means that that before matches like that, there’s no point of thinking, ‘Oh, this streak is getting long. When am I going to lose?’ Or I don’t know, is it even possible to win so many matches?” Swiatek said on the WTA insider podcast. “I just don’t think about it. I honestly kind of believe that the sky’s the limit and I can go even forward. That kind of attitude of just looking forward, not thinking what’s already happened really helped me because I’m also saving energy by not doing that. I’m pretty proud of myself.”

Swiatek plays either Cori Gauff or Martina Trevisan in the French Open final.